Unfinished To-Do Lists

I had lots of things I “needed” to do today.

  • Clean the house
  • Buy gift making supplies
  • Run
  • Finish an online course
  • Meal prep
  • Weekly review/planning

What I’ve actually finished off of this list? Run and half of my online course. So I’m at 25% completion and it’s 6pm. This is a true Instagram v. Reality moment. I’m trying my hardest to be kind to myself and “count” all the other things I didn’t have on my list that I ended up doing (Christmas lists, nap, connected with siblings). Do you fall into the what-does-and-doesn’t-count trap? Had I put any of those things on my list they would have “counted” and I wouldn’t feel as bad for un-done tasks.

No matter what gets done and how much is left undone, I am enough.

-Brene Brown

So instead of reprimanding myself for getting everything done I’m going to pat myself on the back for what I checked off today, find 1-2 more things I can finish in a timely fashion before bed, ask my precious husband for help, and be extra kind with myself so I have enough energy to start again tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started